Stress running

I had a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations between Sept. 22, 2012, and Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I raced in the inaugural Ironman Lake Tahoe. Thanks to you, we reached both of those goals. I am now officially an Ironman, and we raised $11,052!

The next adventure is less focused, but with one simple target: BE HAPPY!

Stress Running

A couple of months ago I had this great idea: why not take advantage of my IMLT fitness and scorch a marathon? Even better, return to the scene of my 2008 Boston marathon qualifier at the Surf City Marathon in Huntington Beach!

The race in 2008 was quite an interesting experience. This was the first race I had ever prepared for with an extended training regimen. There were training runs in Seattle, Portland, Napa… a 20+ miler through the streets of Paris… and then race day arrived in the usually sunny, morning chill/afternoon warmth of southern California. Race day conditions for the Surf City Marathon had always been blissfully perfect… until this race. Pouring down rain. Cold. Winds so strong the palm trees were bent sideways. And yet I soldiered on through the elements to a 3:07 finish and 14th place overall finish. (Only to tear my achilles tendon a few months later, making it impossible to run in Boston the next year).

I had my training plan mapped out again for the race this year. It started off wonderfully… I am faster right now, with endurance from the Ironman training, than ever in my life.

And then real life got in the way. A stretch where I was only able to get a few hours of sleep each night as I was preparing my home to go on the market. The only runs I was able to squeeze in for the entire month of January were runs to keep my sanity: stress runs.

How do those go? You run wicked fast. For a good 5 to 15 miles. Until the stress is gone.

So, we’ll see how well the stress run method of sporadic training in the month before a marathon goes… as I think I’m going to toe up to the starting line of the 2014 Surf City Marathon, and see how it all turns out. This is bound to be interesting…

This entry was posted in Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

