24 days: More chances for trophies

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Just a few weeks away! Raised so far: $9,322! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here!

More Chances for Trophies

So, here it is. The day I turned 40.

Today we celebrate wearing orange! Even Theo got into the celebratory spirit today!

Today we celebrate wearing orange! Even Theo got into the celebratory spirit!

I know, I know. I don’t look a day over 39. You’re too kind.

Have I been dreading this day? Not at all. No reason for dread, fear, or any other negative energy on this day. Though I may be getting gray around the edges, I am easily the fittest and fastest I’ve ever been.

In my 20’s and for a chunk of my 30’s, the 9-mile speedwork run on the training schedule for tonight would have been a daunting task. Today I don’t give it any thought – it really isn’t a big deal at all. It’s only 9 miles with a few 1-mile bursts in the middle. Piece of cake.

In fact, I view 40 not as the fading of my precious youth, but rather as an opportunity! That’s right, I am now in the ‘Masters’ category! It just gives me more chances for trophies on race day. Taking home shiny hardware never gets old…

Embrace the 40. And every day that follows. Age won’t limit us – only the arbitrary limits we place upon ourselves.

This entry was posted in The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

