60 days: 2 months to go

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Only 60 days away! Raised so far: ummm… not 100% sure – I need to finish counting! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or participate in one of our upcoming fundraising events.

Over the last 100 days of our fundraising drive, we have an ongoing fundraising challenge! Every day for the last 100 days before Ironman Lake Tahoe, I’ll be picking out a motivational winner that earns $5 to the TFAC cause of their choice. Lots of winners so far – the first series of deposits have been made! How do you win? Go find out the details here.

2 Months To Go

Only 2 months to go until the BIG DAY. On that day I’ll wake up at around 3am, load up the belly with bagel bars, chicken, caffeine… get in as many productive visits to the restroom as possible… then make my way to the lake and wedge myself into a wetsuit, pondering how the next 10-ish hours will unfold.

Leading up to that big day has been arduous. Balancing family, spending time with the “kids”, work, training, fundraising, event planning, warmup races has all been extremely taxing and stressful. I’ve pushed myself in ways beyond the physical – ‘Extrovert Jeff’ has made far more appearances than usual in the past while. All of this is a growth process that I embrace, and will make me a better man, a better husband and pet parent, and certainly a better athlete.

This past weekend was the culmination of several of these events. On Friday morning at 7am our Ragnar Relay Northwest Passage team began a 30 hour journey from Blaine, WA all the way down to Whidbey Island. As the saying goes, “12 runners. 2 vans. 2 days, 1 night. 200 mile relay. Unforgettable stories.” Every single bit of that is true, and I will be writing about this experience over the next several posts. The most succinct way of describing this experience is in the words of one of my way awesome teammates, “It is summer camp for adults.” She is exactly right! (in fact, several of the team members are chatting and laughing uproariously on Facebook at the exact moment I am writing this post!)

After this race was done on Saturday, I zoomed back down the freeway (sorry about that, Brian, Melissa, Ginger, and Sharon – I didn’t mean to be THAT GUY on the freeway!) in an attempt to make it home early enough to shower and zip on down to Salem for Marc’s big birthday. Unfortunately, it was too late in the evening, and I was too fatigued to make that happen…

Sunday morning ushered in another furious day of activity. the ‘Tri-ing for a Challenge TFAC Tasting Challenge’ was later that night! We had a fancy party tent set up in the back yard of Papa Jeff and Suzanne’s house, and a whole bunch of setting up to do. The night was a smashing success – lots of $$ were raised for charity, and a lot of generous donors bought a lot of great items in the silent auction. I’ll give a rundown of the night’s events and the official take from the events that night sometime next week. Let’s just say that I am humbled and thrilled by how it all turned out.

I haven’t done the official accounting of all donations quite yet, but it is getting really, really close to that magic $10,000 mark. How close? I’m not going to say quite yet… partially because I’m scared to do the simple arithmetic right now!

Now that the FUN is over… these next 60 days are going to get really SERIOUS. And I am hoping that 60 days from today is going to be seriously AWESOME.

This entry was posted in The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

