79 days: Garbled gibberish is my game

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Only 79 days away! Raised so far: $6,357! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or participate in one of our upcoming fundraising events.

In honor of recently reaching the 100 days to go milestone, I kicked off a new fundraising challenge! Every day for the last 100 days before Ironman Lake Tahoe, I’ll be picking out a motivational winner that earns $5 to the TFAC cause of their choice. Lots of winners so far – the first series of deposits have been made! How do you win? Go find out the details here.

Our first really big event is coming up in less than three weeks! Sunday July 21 in Vancouver, WA – a wine & beer tasting event with food, fun, and a silent auction. 100% of the proceeds will go toward the TFAC charities. We’d love it if y’all could attend! If you are unable to be there, we will be offering up the silent auction items online. The first announcement of this event can be found here. More details will be available very soon!

Garbled Gibberish is My Game!

Over the years I’ve learned that the best communication medium for me, by far, is the written word.

Don’t get me wrong, I can speak quite well. I am particularly adept at giving speeches and public speaking – if I have a presentation or general platform to work from . Extemporaneous speech, small talk, polite jibber jabber… nope, not in my wheelhouse. I am quite certain I would get thrown out of an improv class because I would be an idiot. On second thought, I might actually thrive in an improv class, because I am quite adept at coming up with nonsensical, random crap at the drop of a hat. But stuff that makes sense? Not so good.

So, let me make my point very clearly here, I really do stink at effectively communicating in a non-crazy fashion when the conversation is unplanned.

Several instances come to mind in the past week.

  • Earlier this week a colleague approached me to discuss a topic – a specific knothole of a project I’ve been working on pretty much untouched and without interference for the past 9 years. Um, yeah, that didn’t go over very well… even though I knew his intentions were harmless.
  • At the pool today a guy was complimenting my swimming, amazed that I was swimming that fast, without ever stopping (I wasn’t swimming that fast, but I did  have a good day in the pool). I had no clue what to say… all I could muster was a scrambled line of gibberish. It must have made some sense to him, as he seemed pleased by my response… but I have no clue what words spilled forth from my fatigued mouth (it was a 250 meter interval day – very few things make sense anywhere near the time that is taking place).
  • As I was leaving the pool, a guy in the locker room was asking me if the pool was busy. I was trying to communicate to him that, in fact, there should be an open lane out there right now if he hustles to the pool. What I actually said must have sounded like I was speaking Russian to him, as his reaction to the words escaping my mouth indicated that I was speaking in garbled gibberish. Again.

Moral of the story. I am a smart guy. But please don’t judge me by my skills in extemporaneous speaking, especially if I’m trying to hold up my end in a small talk exchange.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 79 days: Garbled gibberish is my game

  1. Good info. Lucky me I found your site by
    chance (stumbleupon). I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

