88 days: Self-ejecting headwear

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Only 88 days away! Raised so far: $6,297! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or participate in one of our upcoming fundraising events.

In honor of recently reaching the 100 days to go milestone, I kicked off a new fundraising challenge! Every day for the last 100 days before Ironman Lake Tahoe, I’ll be picking out a motivational winner that earns $5 to the TFAC cause of their choice. Lots of winners so far – I’ll begin the first set of deposits later this week. How do you win? Go find out the details here.

Self-Ejecting Headwear

Over the weekend I needed to get in a moderately long swim. Lauren and I headed down to the gym fairly early on Sunday morning and I was glad to jump into a relatively empty pool. This was great news, as there is a 20-minute limit when others are waiting for a lane; I was not likely to have my swim cut short!

Some days I need to make an adjustment or two on the goggles soon after the laps commence – a little leak here or there – but that wasn’t an issue on this day. After a few laps, however, something strange did happen… my left ear popped out of my swim cap. It was flapping around in the water… quite the strange sensation. I stopped, reapplied the cap, and resumed swimming merrily along.

After a few more laps it happened again. Another quick adjustment with an emphatic yanking down of the cap was the attempted remedy. At first this appeared to do the trick… and after yet a few more laps the ear was still in place! It was the entire top of the swim cap that was creeping up this time! It was literally starting to float off my head!

What the heck happened? Well, apparently, I had applied too much conditioner to my hair the previous day – my pre-swim shower made my hair super slick, pretty much like a banana peel on an ice rink, leaving the swim cap defenseless in its effort to stay in place. I decided to stop and swim the rest of the session without a cap – the last thing I needed was for it to shoot off my head and hit some unsuspecting bystander innocently walking along the pool… ready-made lawsuit, right?

This entry was posted in Off-Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

