95 days: They did it!!!

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Only 95 days away! Raised so far: $6,097! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or participate in one of our upcoming fundraising events.

In honor of reaching the 100 days to go milestone last Friday, I kicked off a new fundraising challenge! Every day for the last 100 days before Ironman Lake Tahoe, I’ll be picking out a motivational winner that earns $5 to the TFAC cause of their choice. How do you win? Go find out the details here.

They Did It!!!!!

You did it! Congratulations!

Ummm… no… not that…

You might have noticed one of the normal preambles to my blog posts for the past month plus is no longer at the top of the page. You know, something that looked like this:

Suzanne and Tawnya are on the march! Follow along as they trek the Camino de Santiago de Compostela, “The Way of St James” – a 500 mile pilgrimage starting in southern France and across northern Spain. They have posted several interesting updates to their blog – fascinating reading!

They just finished the pilgrimage today. They endured hills, snow, rain, heat, aching knees/feet/shoulders, blisters, and a myriad of other difficulties to finish the 500-mile journey. They chose an ambitious schedule, and finished just one day off that blistering pace-of-a-goal to arrive in Santiago as weary, enlightened, proud pilgrims.

I pilfered this pic from Tawnya's Facebook page: their destination - Santiago de Compostela Catholic Church. I can't even begin to imagine how glorious this must have looked, as it marked the end of their 500-mile long journey!

I pilfered this pic from Tawnya’s Facebook page: their destination – Santiago de Compostela Catholic Church. I can’t even begin to imagine how glorious this must have looked, as it marked the end of their 500-mile long journey!

I can’t wait to hear about their magnificent adventure when I make my own annual 1,000 mile pilgrimage from LAX to PDX/SEA this July to visit home (I drive or fly… no hiking that trip! Though I will someday cycle it). The tales from the road. The sights, sounds, and smells. The stories of their fellow pilgrims. The cafe con leche. The rundown of the various albergues, pilgrims’ meals, and, of course, the local wines!

I am impressed for their accomplishment. I am so ridiculously proud of them for their achievement.

If you haven’t been following their journey, I recommend starting from the first post and flipping through the brief posts highlighting their 5+ week journey. I find it fascinating and amazing.

BRAVO!

This entry was posted in Challenge, Off-Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

