117 days: Training report – week 1

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Less than 17 weeks away! Raised so far: $5,947! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or find out how you can get involved by pinging me on Facebook or by dropping me a note.

Suzanne and Tawnya are on the march! Follow along as they trek the Camino de Santiago de Compostela, “The Way of St James” – a 500 mile pilgrimage starting in southern France and across northern Spain. They’ve posted several updates of the first two weeks of their journey.

Please sign up for the Kyle’s Special Heart 5K/10K! June 8 in Rainier, WA! Details and registration information are here – please help out my cousin and his wife as their newborn son Kyle fights with the fury of a thousand ninja babies to heal from his congenital heart issues. More information about Kyle and his fight can be found on their blog. I won’t be able to make it – I have the Redondo Beach Triathlon that same weekend – but I will be there in spirit!

Training Report – Week 1

My 18-week training cycle in preparation for Ironman Lake Tahoe has officially begun, and Week 1 in this plan is complete! In order to keep myself accountable and motivated, each week I’ll be sharing the planned and actual results of my training plan – the “Commit” part of my TFAC process. This week was designed to get my body gradually used to a rigorous training schedule, without doing too much and risking injury. Not a ton of volume… not a ton of speedwork… but enough of each to get the body and mind properly stimulated.

  • Monday:
    Plan – Rest
    Actual – Rest
  • Tuesday:
    Plan – Easy 5mi run
    Actual – Run 4.9 miles @ 6:37/mile.
    My last official run with the Garmin Forerunner 305. It temporarily regained its marbles.
  • Wednesday:
    Plan – Swim 1200m with 10 x 25m intervals; Bike 40min with 10 x 20sec intervals
    Actual – Swim 1200m with 10 x 25m intervals; Bike 14.6 miles with 10 x 20sec intervals. This workout felt really, really good. 25m intervals in the pool are fun!
  • Thursday:
    Plan – Run 45min with 8 x 100m intervals
    Actual – Run 6.8 miles @ 6:38/mile with 8 x 100m intervals
    As this workout was primarily on the track, I got to wear my Saucony Hattoris… man, those shoes are fast! But the intervals hurt… and I got to test out the new watch – the Forerunner 910XT. It’s a keeper!
  • Friday:
    Plan – Swim 1200m with 6 x 100m intervals; easy 45min Bike
    Actual – Swim 1200m with 6 x 100m intervals; Bike 14.1 miles
    Barely got this workout in – traffic to/from work was MISERABLE with the 3-day weekend coming up… spent a lot of time sitting on the freeway trying to get home (and to the gym… and then out on the bike…). Oh, and 100m intervals in the pool are not fun… they really, really hurt those last two cycles.
  • Saturday:
    Plan – Endurance swim 1500m; Endurance run 8mi
    Actual – Swim 1500m; Run 8.1 miles @ 6:38/mile
    Had to squeeze this one in early! And even though on an endurance run I’m supposed to dial back the pace about one minute per mile or so, the legs felt so good it was really, really difficult to keep the pace moderated.
  • Sunday:
    Plan – Endurance bike 35mi
    Actual – Bike 35 miles
    Accidentally deleted this ride from the computer before could download it to the computer… a shame, as I should have come close to PR-ing a couple of segments on this ride!

Grand Totals:

  • 3900m of swimming (2.4 miles) – 01:06:24 – I need to keep on getting faster here.
  • 63.7 miles of cycling – 03:22:34 (18.9mph average) – I need to get a few mph faster.
  • 19.8 miles of running – 02:11:17 (6:38/mile average) – about on pace, actually faster than I expected to be at right now, but need to maintain this over longer distances.
  • 85.9 total miles. 5960 total calories expended.

Week 1 of 18 is officially in the books… and that was the “easiest” week on my training plan (well, except for Week 3, as I have the Redondo Beach Triathlon on June 9 – it is a short sprint triathlon, so the weekend miles will be lighter than normal). By Week 4 I should be logging in over 100 miles per week… maxing out at almost 200 miles in Week 15!

Are we having fun, yet?

This entry was posted in Training Check-In. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

