128 days: Sincerely the most awesome race reports you’ll ever see

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Just over 18 weeks away! Raised so far: $5,947! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or find out how you can get involved by pinging me on Facebook or by dropping me a note.

Suzanne and Tawnya are on the march! Follow along as they trek the Camino de Santiago de Compostela, “The Way of St James” – a 500 mile pilgrimage starting in southern France and across northern Spain.

Please sign up for the Kyle’s Special Heart 5K/10K! June 8 in Rainier, WA! Details and registration information are here – please help out my cousin and his wife as their newborn son Kyle fights with the fury of a thousand ninja babies to heal from his congenital heart issues. More information about Kyle and his fight can be found on their blog. I won’t be able to make it – I have the Redondo Beach Triathlon that same weekend – but I will be there in spirit!

Sincerely the most awesome race reports you’ll ever see

I’m fond of writing up race reports that I hope give some insights into the various elements of the race as seen through my eyes, perhaps with a touch of humor (often self-deprecating):

Though I think they are fun… and perhaps moderately interesting to some (hey, I know my family enjoys them)… they just don’t come close to being awesome.

Pro triathlete Trevor Wurtele, however, takes race reports to a whole new level. These are honestly the first and only race reports I’ve seen so far that go beyond awesome. Even beyond AWESOME. They are nothing short of brilliant.

From Ironman 70.3 Oceanside in March:

Ironman 70.3 New Orleans in April:

And, just posted yesterday, Ironman 70.3 St George in May:

Um, yeah… his race report made mine look silly.

And I LOVE THAT! Time to step up my game!

Other business

18 weeks and 2 days until Ironman Lake Tahoe! For a variety of reasons I prefer to do my training blocks in 18-week increments, so that means a very rigorous and regimented program begins on Monday. I stayed up late last a couple of nights ago mapping it all out, tailoring a program that seemed reasonable to fit my schedule – I work from home on Wednesday, so that gets to be a high volume day in addition to the weekends.

Good news: at first it seemed like a reasonable plan.

Bad news: when I tallied up the metrics (miles, hours, etc) I think it might not have enough volume… lots of opportunity for the dreaded speedwork (yes, you still need to do some of that for a full Ironman), but I might bump up the first weeks of the plan by 10% to 20% to see if I can push it a bit.

Best news: Monday is the rest day in my plan. So I am quite certain that I’ll be starting off this training cycle perfectly on course!

This entry was posted in Race Report, The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

