130 days: Getting back to TFAC

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Just over 18 weeks away! Raised so far: $5,947! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or find out how you can get involved by pinging me on Facebook or by dropping me a note.

Suzanne and Tawnya are on the march! Follow along as they trek the Camino de Santiago de Compostela, “The Way of St James” – a 500 mile pilgrimage starting in southern France and across northern Spain.

Please sign up for the Kyle’s Special Heart 5K/10K! June 8 in Rainier, WA! Details and registration information are here – please help out my cousin and his wife as their newborn son Kyle fights with the fury of a thousand babies to heal from his congenital heart issues. More information about Kyle and his fight can be found on their blog.

Getting Back to TFAC

Several months ago I outlined a series of steps I do to help decide on, motivate, and prepare for a race: the TFAC method.

  • Target. I find the goal that I want to accomplish. I make it difficult… something that scares me a little and will make me grow.
  • Focus. I outline a structured plan that will help me accomplish this goal. The most important part of this step: write the plan down.
  • Attack. Go about executing the plan. With reckless abandon… but listen to yourself, your family, your friends. Be reasonable and adjust when necessary, but go after it!
  • Commit. Hold yourself accountable toward accomplishing that goal… commit financially, make your goals and progress public (peer pressure is a powerful tool), get a support or training group… many options here.

So, by now you are probably pretty well versed in what’s going on here. I have two goals: Ironman Lake Tahoe and $10,000 in fundraising.

The fundraising is about right on track. We’re almost 2/3 the way there… and we are nearing 2/3 the target amount. That goal needed a long-term plan and y’all are doing fantastically in helping me reach it! There will be some fundraisers taking place this summer – in fact, the first one with a firm date is July 21 in Vancouver, WA! We will be holding a wine & beer tasting event – there will be food, games, some silent auctions (with bidding open to folks that couldn’t attend in person), and, of course, some fantastic wine and beer to enjoy. Other events are in the works, and some might take place before that event! Stay tuned!

The Ironman Lake Tahoe training is nearing… I typically use 18-week training cycles for most major events. As I’ve been able to maintain a pretty solid fitness base, 18 weeks usually gives me ample time to dial in my race-specific fitness aims, but isn’t so long that I become mentally fatigued with the process.

So, let’s get back to this whole TFAC thing as it pertains to the Ironman portion of this effort.

  • Target. Check.
  • Focus. Working on drafting that 18-week plan right now and will post on Friday. I might hire a coach to help modify this plan afterward and focus on getting my swim time down.
  • Attack. Official, focused, measured training will began in earnest on Monday. Which is awesome, because in most of my training plans that is a rest day! Score! I can GUARANTEE I’ll nail the first day of my plan!
  • Commit. Last year while training for the Napa Valley Marathon I got into the habit of posting my training plan and results for the prior week on Monday morning. It was my way of staying honest and being held publicly accountable (well, until the whole work thing exploded on me). I’ll be resuming this routine in a couple of weeks!

Frankly, I’m enjoying the unstructured portion of my training right now. I’m training based on feel and time/resource availability. Over the weekend while visiting family in the Portland area I was without my bikes… but the gym pool was nearby and I brought running gear. I felt like getting in a solid swim and several runs – most of them without agenda. I started running and headed off in a random direction and didn’t know how far I was going to go until I got the first mile under my belt… and it usually ended up being a much longer run than I thought I would want to get in – I would leave the house thinking a simple little 3-miler would be good, only to end up running 5.5, 7.7, and 7.4 miles in consecutive days. And they felt great.

But if I want to get really strong, and really fast, I’ll need to get structured and push myself even harder… but not so hard that I crack. I’m kind of looking forward to that part, too.

This entry was posted in The Journey, Van Down by the River. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

