132 days: And… they’re off!

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Just over 4 months away! Raised so far: $5,927! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or find out how you can get involved by pinging me on Facebook or by dropping me a note.

And… They’re Off!

My family is pretty awesome. And by family, I mean my relatives and a whole slew of super fantastic friends. I got to see a few of them this weekend on a quick-and-dirty visit home.

Trips home are always difficult, mostly because I don’t come back for visits frequently enough, so I try to jam as much as I can into whatever duration I’m there. My last trip was the annual pilgrimage in July where I spend a week or two in the Portland area, fit in a triathlon or two, hang with fam, and get into as much benign trouble as possible.

Last year my visit home looked something like this:

  • Drive the 15 hours straight up from LA to Vancouver, WA (henceforth referred to as Vantucky)
  • Promptly head up to the Seattle area to help Karl & Emily move to a new house
  • Post a couple of Jeff Jabber videos (like this… and this… and this)
  • Go back up to Seattle the next weekend and race in the Ironman 70.3 Lake Stevens (it went well)
  • And then head back up the weekend after that to run in the AWESOME Ragnar Relay Northwest Passage
  • Then drove back to my home in Redondo Beach.

I jammed a whole bunch of goodness into that 18-ish days of home last July. Some great time visiting with family and friends – that was my third year in a row of an extended July visit to Vantucky. But that was my last trip home… far too long between visits. But I absolutely had to visit Vantucky this past weekend… why? and so close to the upcoming annual July trip (yes, don’t fret, I’ll be back up this July once again for a somewhat extended visit).

So… why was it so important that I spend a weekend home in May? Because Suzanne and Tawnya headed out on their journey today. You know, the one I wrote about recently.

It was wonderful to spend some time with family. And really, really cool to see Suzanne off at the airport this morning bright and early as she and Tawnya boarded their plane.

The night before: Suzanne was repacking her backpack and checking everything... all of that fit into her pack (plus more!) and will be carried on her back for all 500 miles.

The night before: Suzanne was repacking her backpack and checking everything… all of that fit into her pack (plus more!) and will be carried on her back for all 500 miles.

They will be posting updates on their journey when they have a chance – follow along and you are certain to be entertained and educated over the next 6 weeks and 500 miles as they make their trek along the Camino de Santiago de Compostela…  http://www.notsurewhy.com/ … and maybe they’ll find out why!

This entry was posted in Off-Topic, The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

