139 days: St George 70.3 race recap – executive summary

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Less than 5 months away! Raised so far: $5,187! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or find out how you can get involved by pinging me on Facebook or by dropping me a note.

Thank you to all that contributed to the RMHC and AHA matching funds challenge! $530 was donated to these causes… and, yep, I’ll be depositing my matching funds into the appropriate accounts this week!

St George 7o.3 race recap – executive summary

My job requires me to perform highly detailed analyses that I need to explain at the very nuts and bolts level to ridiculously smart people. This very same job also requires me to distill these very complicated studies down to just the key elements and results for decision-making by the project stakeholders.

With that in mind, later this week I will write up a detailed report spanning a couple of different blog posts about my fantastic race experience in Ironman 70.3 St George. For today, I’ll give you the executive summary.

For a variety of reasons, I had absolutely no business racing in St George:

  • I only had about a week and a half of triathlon training under my belt over the past several months.
  • I arrived at the race still recovering from a viral infection that had knocked me on my @$$ for the entire prior week.
  • The St George race course is considered to be the most brutal Ironman 70.3 course in North America.

I raced it anyway. And earned the worst race result I’ve had in a triathlon in years.

But it is the most favorite of all the races I’ve ever done, and the one that I’m most proud of completing.

Over the next few days, in the long version of the race report, I’ll explain why. (long version Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3).

This entry was posted in Race Report. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

