144 days: Human beings are a mystery to me

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Less than 5 months away! Raised so far: $5,187! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or find out how you can get involved by pinging me on Facebook or by dropping me a note.

Reminder: There are now just 3 days remaining to double your donation to a couple of great causes. Until May 4 I’ve pledged up to $500 $750 to match donations through our cause made to the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Western Washington & Alaska and to the American Heart Association. Follow the link, donate, I’ll match it. This is particularly important right now as little Kyle continues his heroic fight.

Human Beings are a Mystery to Me

I think I’m a pleasant enough guy. On occasion I could even be called friendly. But nobody will ever crown me the “King of Small Talk” – I am quite possibly the worst person in the world when it comes to that particular skill. Because of this, and a myriad of other personal character defects, I could possibly be considered a real bummer to have as a party guest. In general, people are a mystery to me.

An even bigger mystery to me is how a human body can go from a difficult training day on Wednesday, to essentially being sick in bed for the next 5 days, and then rally right back to normality again. Or ‘close enough to normal’ might be more appropriate.

What does this mean? Yep, we’re headed to St George, Utah! Time to go give the notoriously tough Ironman St George course a try, this time in the smaller size, lower calorie 70.3 version. The race is on Saturday morning, May 4. I’ll give a quick pre-race update on Friday from St George. Hopefully I will have bumped into some triathlon royalty (the pro start list this weekend is long and littered with many of the best in the world), and maybe even my blogging and fundraising hero Fat Cyclist! Hey, you never know!

The biggest mystery to me, though, is how there are so many people in my/our world that step right on up and do good things for others.

  • This very same weekend, my good friend Steph is jumping on her new bike, Ruby, and taking a Tour de Cure of the Napa Valley to raise funds benefiting the American Diabetes Association. Go Steph!
  • Also this weekend, my friend and Ragnar teammate, Sharon, is raising funds for the American Cancer Society as she runs her 5th marathon on 5/5! Go Sha-Run!
  • I’ve told you about my my cousin and his wife’s newborn Kyle, right? Some really cool friends of theirs are organizing a benefit run up in the good ol’ Puget Sound area really soon. The details are still coming together, but it will be “Kyle’s Special Heart 5K/10K” on June 8 in Rainier, WA. More information will be available here. Tacoma/Seattle/Olympia/Portland peeps, please, please, please consider joining in to help out!

See… mysterious, shady, shifty characters that are trying to do good things for others. I don’t understand them at all…

This entry was posted in The Journey, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

