163 days: Finding her way

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. We’re well over halfway there on the calendar… and about to kick this thing into high gear on the fundraising front! Raised so far: $4,257! Want to increase this total? Chip in a few bucks to one of our causes here, or find out how you can get involved by pinging me on Facebook or by dropping me a note.

Reminder: There are three weeks remaining to double your donation to a couple of great causes. Until May 4 I’ve pledged up to $500 to match donations through our cause made to the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Western Washington & Alaska and to the American Heart Association. Follow the link, donate, I’ll match it.

Some really cool people have been featured here over the past couple of months. You remember Suzanne K.’s inspiring story, and how Brian demolished his marathon and fundraising efforts?

Next up: my really cool stepmom Suzanne. You won’t get the full story today, however. This story will take a while to evolve.

By way of quick introduction, Suzanne and my dad (who we now call Papa Jeff – or PJ – so there is no confusion as to whom Lauren was addressing on our visits home) have been together and an influential part of my life for, wow, almost 23 years now.

Suzanne is feisty. She is mostly fearless (California freeways and hearing stories about breakneck descents down switchback roads aren’t quite her thing). She is the person who nudged me into the world of marathon and triathlon – because she is the one that paved the way. I feared the marathon… but she had done several Portland Marathons, showing me that hard work and focus will make the daunting things plausible. And, just a few years ago, she bravely tackled her first triathlon and has continued to tackle them.

Suzanne and I are posing with our medals from the 2011 Blue Lake triathlon series weekend. I won my division, and she got an fantastic third place finish!

Suzanne and I are posing with our medals from the 2011 Blue Lake triathlon series weekend. I won my division, and she got a fantastic third place finish!

She truly is an inspiring person in more ways than I can write in a simple blog post.

In just over a month from today, though, she is tackling something really, really big. She is taking on a personal journey. The 500-mile El Camino de Santiago pilgrimage – The Way of St. James. She will start in southern France with her backpack. Climb the Pyrenees. Then trek across northern Spain toward the western Spanish coastline. But don’t let me tell you about it… let her tell you about it.

She is hoping to get the chance to blog about her journey – you can rest assured that I will be following along and posting updates. We’ll also have some fun with it here, as we will be tying in our fundraising activities to her journey (we’ve yet to work out all the details, but it is certain to be interesting and fun!)

If you want some insights into the journey and what she’ll see, I encourage you to watch the movie “The Way” directed by Emilio Estevez and starring Martin Sheen (available on Netflix streaming).

Oh, and don’t worry, she’ll have a buddy. Tawnya is going with her. And they are going to have a ton of fun.

Tri-ing for a Challenge is on Facebook! Like us! We like you…

This entry was posted in American Heart Association, Challenge, Ronald McDonald House, The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 163 days: Finding her way

  1. Brian says:

    Very cool! I’ve seen the movie and it seems like a really cool journey.

Leave a Reply

