167 days: Putting my behind in the past… errr… something like that

I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. We’re well over halfway there… and about to kick this thing into high gear. Raised so far: $4,152!

Time to sit down and write up this WAY overdue post to get y’all caught back up on what is going on in Tri-ing for a Challenge land. TFAC-land, if you will. Or is it more of a village? TFAC-ville! Perhaps TFAC-ville is the capitol of TFAC-land?

Whoa. I sincerely apologize for that rather disturbing diversion there. See what happens when you’ve been spending entirely too much time in front of a computer screen building ridiculously complicated spreadsheets, databases, and programming code?

Yes. That’s right. You lose touch with reality.

A whopping 53 days ago I posted about why I pretty much fell off the face of the earth for a while… why training, blog posting, and even being a decent human being that remembered to eat and bathe regularly had ceased. Work was killing me – it was the dagger thrust. An impromptu home project was finishing off the job – it was the dagger twist. BUT, alas, 53 days ago I thought I saw the light at the end of the tunnel.

Buuuuzzzzzzz! WRONG. It turns out that at the very time you think work concerns will relax is when they do the exact opposite. I now realize that it is extremely dangerous to do things (with the spreadsheets, and the databases, and the programming) that are extremely difficult, but make them look easy. “The miracle” has now become ho-hum normality. The trap of the hyper-competent.

So, for the past 53 days I’ve gone from thinking that life will return to normality… to literally spending 7 days a week glued to my trusty metal/plastic/silicon best friend (my computer – I felt compelled to say that knowing where the minds of a few readers will immediately go). It has been mentally and physically exhausting. And more than once I honestly felt as though I was about to snap. I was lucky to survive a 13.1 and 26.2 in the midst of this… but I had no business running those races.

All of this work stuff was in preparation for an extremely important meeting with the Board of Directors… one that was certain to be highly contentious and stressful… and everything I did would be in the crosshairs. All of this came to pass. And it was tense. And ridiculously stressful. And everything I’ve done for the past 9 years was scrutinized.

But now it is in the past. And it is now time to put my behind in the past (as Pumbaa would say). A little bit of old school Hakuna Matata.

Because I’m back. And I have A LOT of stuff to talk about. This week is going to be chock full of posts. The preview:

  • I am most certainly not a religious man. But some family and friends-that-are-family could certainly use some happy thoughts (and prayers if you are so inclined).
  • The Ragnar Northwest Passage squad is filling up fast! And I THANK YOU for the renewed energy! This race is going to rock!
  • My really awesome stepmom is about to embark on a 500-mile pilgrimage across Spain in about a little over a month. And she wants to help out our TFAC cause in any way she can!

The stories… the motivation… the energy and enthusiasm have been built up behind this damned dam for the past several months, and now is the time to set it free. Brace yourself.

Tri-ing for a Challenge is on Facebook! Like us! We like you…

This entry was posted in The Journey, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

