314 days: Now that’s a mo!

Quick recap: I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Over one month in and so far we are on track. Raised so far: $1,025!

Last Friday I discussed my issue with Movember: I am surrounded by men who have fantastic mustaches, but I am not capable of growing one. Papa Jeff, LSD, Rieber… all classic mustaches. The best part of that entire post, in my humble opinion, was the very last picture. Makes me laugh every time.

In lieu of my participation in Movember this year, I suggest you consider supporting a member of my family that is VERY capable of growing facial hair. One of my little brothers, Karl. If Karl forgets to shave in the morning he will have a full beard by nightfall. Proof:

Karl on the day of his wedding with a freshly shaved face (about three years ago).

This was a picture of Karl later that very same evening right after the wedding reception. Simply not natural. I am convinced he is part Chia Pet.

Alright, fine, I admit… I exaggerated that sequence a bit… but not by much!

Karl is an energetic, enthusiastic, and intelligent guy. But left to his own devices his Movember experience might quickly get out of control. You can’t quite be sure where his mo will go. It could go the direction of the photograph above. Or he could another route:

He could go handlebars. Luigi-style. And with almost three weeks to go in Movember… they could turn into handlebars the size of longhorns!

Or he could go with the mustache embedded in a nest of fluffy beard.

If you would like to have some influence on the direction his facial hair experience goes this Movember, I strongly encourage you to donate to his cause and let him know how you feel at Karl’s Movember page.

This is particularly important if you have kids (he is an educator). If you live in the Seattle area. Or if you are a citizen of the world. Do you want to take the chance of running into Karl if his facial hair growth this month is left to his own devices?

Alright on to other things… It is Monday and time to check in on my training progress toward my first big racing goal of 2013 (Napa Valley Marathon in early March). This week was a build-up week that started with 17 weeks to go until race day. Recall that I have a race pace goal of 6:30/mile, and that some training days are fast, others at an easy pace, and others very easy. I offer up my plan for last week, and how I performed against that plan, as part of my “Commit” portion of the TFAC plan.

Monday: 3 mile run (recovery pace from Sunday’s 10-mile run)
Done: 3.0 miles @ 6:24/mile

Tuesday: 30 minute tempo run (slow, build up to very fast, then gradually slow down)
Done: 4.2 miles @ 6:51/mile

Wednesday: 3 mile run
Done: 3.0 miles @ 6:12/mile

Thursday: 3 miles at race pace
Done: 3.0 miles @ 6:56/mile (felt horrible… almost bagged this run, but since I had WRITTEN DOWN MY PLAN I carried on with it)

Friday: REST DAY. Good thing, as I felt like poo.

Saturday: 5 mile run
Done: 5.0 miles @ 6:23/mile

Sunday: 11 mile slow run
Done: 11.1 miles @ 6:53/mile (with a gnarly spill in the middle. Clipped my toe on a curb and face planted on the sidewalk. Scraped up the knees and hands, and severely jammed – perhaps broke – my ring finger. But finished the run.)

Grand total: 29.2 miles, average pace of 6:41/mile, and 3,922 calories burned.

This next week is a recovery week. I am so looking forward to that! Only 27 miles, but filled with speed work. Intervals. A tempo run. I am not looking forward to those parts.

Tri-ing for a Challenge is on Facebook! Like us! We like you…

This entry was posted in Off-Topic, Training Check-In. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

