325 days: Marinate on that

Quick recap: I have a plan to raise $10,000 for some awesome organizations by Sept. 22, 2013 – the day I run in Ironman Lake Tahoe. Over one month in and so far we are on track. Raised so far: $1,025!

Ragnar team members, others who have accepted a race sponsorship challenge, and those that are hosting an event, I’ve set up a page to describe how to get started. Go check it out: fundraising.

On Monday I challenged you. To challenge me. So I could challenge you. Which will challenge me… we can go on like that all day… in order to stop the vicious cycle go check out the challenge and the follow-up on yesterday. By Nov. 9th I want my race calendar filled with red circles around certain dates. I’ve added a half marathon (Pasadena) and marathon (Napa) just over the past 36 hours!

We don’t eat a lot of red meat in our house. But when we do, one of our favorites is to get a nice big pile of tri-tip from the local Costco and let it marinate in a concoction of barbecue and Worcestershire sauce goodness (plus some other stuff) for a good 24 to 36 hours before firing them up over some flames to a perfect medium rare. Pair that up with a nice pile of baby potatoes roasted in olive oil and rosemary, perhaps with some corn and a nice broccoli slaw salad, pulled together by a bottle of over-the-top Zinfandel from Paso Robles. Makes me salivate just thinking about all of that…

One ingredient in this process is key:

The wine? Valuable, but not imperative. You can get by with a good beer in a pinch, and you can be certain that a big Cabernet will undoubtedly do the trick.

The side dishes? These certainly help, but we all know this meal isn’t about potatoes, corn, or a salad.

OK, then… we get it… the meat? Absolutely. It is all about the meat. But not just the meat itself. It is in the marinade. Barbecued tri-tip is tasty. Barbecued tri-tip that has been patiently resting in a delicious marinade for hours on end is TASTY!

The absolute key to this meal is the forethought. The patience. Taking the time let the flavors stew together. To really sink in. To marinate.

The same concept applies to big ideas and making a leap. Sometimes you just need to sit on them for a while, let them stew about and churn… let them sink in over a night or two of sleep while the mind works its magic in the background cycles.

On Monday of this week I offered up my planned race schedule filled with holes, and have asked you to help me fill in those holes. The meat.

Tuesday I added a little pepper – if you haven’t seen it, go there just to see the wicked awesome Ironman “Become One” commercial.

Wednesday I layered on the marinade. Ways you can make a challenge for yourself, take a big leap – and raise $$ for charity – while simultaneously challenging me. Some ways to get involved that I presented there:

  1. Take on a race/event sponsorship challenge.
  2. If you’re already registered for a race, we can make it into sponsored, fundraising event.
  3. Challenge me. Doesn’t have to be athletic… proceeds go to charity.
  4. Help me fill in my race schedule.
  5. Join our Ragnar team – it is a sponsored race and I want you on my team!

Marinate on that. And then get back to me.

Tri-ing for a Challenge is on Facebook! Like us! We like you…

This entry was posted in Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

