360 days: The Sarcoma Foundation of America

Last Saturday I introduced WHAT: raise $10,000 for charity by Sept. 22, 2013.

On Sunday I discussed WHY. “And this time I have a plan.”

The rest of this week we’ll focus on the WHO and the HOW.

  • Today I am introducing you to the last of 4 organizations I would like to support over the next year. So far we’ve met: HerShe, the ASPCA, and LIVESTRONG.
  • Tomorrow I am going to explain the mechanisms behind my plan, and describe how YOU can get involved. And your chance to get involved is going to happen soon. VERY soon.

The last organization I want to introduce is the inspiration for this entire fundraising effort. It is the reason I want to do better, why this time “I have a plan”. It is the WHY. The Sarcoma Foundation of America.

Frankly, I’ve been simultaneously dreading writing this post, and looking forward to it. Because this one is extremely personal to me, to my friends, and, in some respects, to my family. Because this post is about loss.

When I first moved to California in early 2001 I knew one person here, and through this buddy I met a group of super crazy cool people. Over the years we’ve gone our separate ways, drifted a bit, and don’t see each other as often as we should for the usual litany of reasons… Increasingly important and time-consuming job responsibilities. Raising families of vibrant, smart, beautiful children. Doing silly things like running marathons and triathlons… But I still consider every single one of them a member of my family – I would do anything for any one of them if the phone rang, and I know they would reciprocate.

And then one day you get the call. Cancer. It hits hard. It hits fast. And, before you know it, one of your family is gone. You try to be there for your friend that lost the love of his life, knowing that nothing you can do or say will ever be enough.

And so I ran. And swam. And cycled. And then ran some more. And donated money to fight the cause that took our friend. And cajoled you into donating money to do the same. And you did. And for that (and so many more reasons) I love you.

But it won’t bring our friend back. It won’t take away my buddy’s pain. And cancer – sarcoma – is still out there.

The mission of the Sarcoma Foundation of America (SFA) is to advocate for sarcoma patients by funding research and by increasing awareness about the disease. The organization raises money to privately fund grants for sarcoma researchers and conducts education and advocacy efforts on behalf of sarcoma patients.

And I deeply and sincerely want to help the Sarcoma Foundation of America accomplish their mission.

Over the course of the next 360 days I will be offering up opportunities to get to know more about the SFA, and to let you know ways that you can assist their cause. This is one of the organizations I would like to support, and have set a target of raising $2,000 for their mission by Sept. 22, 2013.

For more information, please visit the Sarcoma Foundation of America website, or visit their page on Crowdrise.

This entry was posted in Sarcoma Foundation of America, The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

