362 days: ASPCA

Three days ago I introduced the WHAT: raise $10,000 for charity by Sept. 22, 2013.

Two days ago I discussed WHY. “And this time I have a plan.”

The rest of this week we’ll focus on the WHO and the HOW.

  • Monday through Thursday I am introducing you to the 4 organizations I would like to support over the next year. The first of these: HerShe
  • Friday I am going to explain the mechanisms behind my plan, and describe how YOU can get involved.

ASPCA - Fight Animal CrueltyThe next organization I would like to introduce is the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA).

If you know only three things about us, you likely know that Lauren and I love great food (the Facebook photos of our meals are almost legendary), collect wine, and are absolutely in love with our menagerie of pets: Cashmere, Count Blacula, Frankie, and Theo.

We’ll address the food and vino issues over the next several months, but for now let’s focus on the pets. The quick story: each and every one of them was adopted from a rescue organization. In fact, both Theo and Count Blacula spent time behind bars and were saved from the cruelest of all fates – death row.

Theo - he sure is smiley

Why would somebody put this guy on death row? I don’t understand. Really. Don’t get it.

So, any organization whose mission is the following is certain to get our support:

To provide effective means for the prevention of cruelty to animals throughout the United States.

Yep. We can get behind that! This is the mission of the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA). They are incredibly active in supporting programs to fight animal cruelty, promoting the adoption of pets, and advocating for pet health and wellness.

Any organization that strives to keep our innocent little friends safe, off death row, and healthy gets my vote.

Over the course of the next 362 days I will be offering up opportunities to get to know more about the ASPCA, and to let you know ways that you can assist their cause. This is one of the organizations I would like to support, and have set a target of raising $2,000 for their mission by Sept. 22, 2013.

For more information, please visit the ASPCA website, or visit their page on Crowdrise.

This entry was posted in ASPCA, The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 362 days: ASPCA

  1. I’m in! ASPCA is near and dear to my heart. Einstein is the first puppy I’ve been able to raise from ‘scratch’. All my other animals (kitties, dogs) were either from the pound or rescue organizations.

    Go,Jeff, go!!

    Thank you so much, Lori! I’ve got something in mind that you and Einstein might be able to help with right off the bat! I’ll be pinging you soon! – JFO

Leave a Reply

