365 days: It begins here

One year from today I will be taking on what I hope will be the single biggest challenge of my life – competing in the inaugural Ironman Lake Tahoe. 140.6 miles.

2.4 miles of swimming / 112 miles of cycling / 26.2 miles of running – all at 6,000+ ft of altitude.

I chose today to begin the journey toward not only conquering my goal, but smashing it. And I don’t want to do it alone. I want every single one of you, my family, friends, and friends I haven’t yet met, to be a part of this journey.

No, I’m not asking you to log endless miles in the pool or on the roads with me. But I would welcome the company.

No, I’m not asking you to run the race with me. That would be really cool, but the race is sold out (in less than 12 hours, actually!).

So, what am I asking you to do? How can you be a part of this journey? Well, my journey actually ISN’T about this race. It is only an ancillary part a larger journey. The real goal that I hope to not only conquer, but to SMASH, is to raise $10,000 over the next year to benefit several causes that are sincerely dear to my heart. These organizations include the Sarcoma Foundation of America, LIVESTRONG, and the ASPCA, among others.

Over the next 12 months I will be blogging about my preparation for Ironman Lake Tahoe. But I’ll also be blogging about these great organizations. And I’ll be blogging about opportunities throughout 2013 to contribute to these and other worthy causes – be it $$, blood, sweat, or tears.

I hope you are able to join me on this journey. I’ll be outlining my plan in more detail over the next week, but right now, literally, I need to run.

Peace,

Jeff

This entry was posted in The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 365 days: It begins here

  1. Daria says:

    So awesome Jeff! You’re going to rock this thing! Looking forward to following your journey.

Leave a Reply

